July 27, 2022


2020 congratulations

Spring has been a busy time for CFI members:

Jesse Williams, Ph.D. was awarded an NIH R01 grant "Sex and stress hormones control adrenal gland macrophage development and function" and an MN Department of Health grant to study monocyte trafficking following traumatic brain injury.

Tanya Freedman, Ph.D., has been granted the 2021 Innovative Research Award from the Rheumatology Research Foundation. The RRF funds rheumatology education, training, and research that will improve treatments for people with rheumatic
diseases.  Tanya was also selected for a  Pre-R01 Brainstorm Award funding by the Masonic Cancer Center at the University of Minnesota to continue work on the function of Lyn kinase in the breast-tumor immune microenvironment, cell trafficking,
and metastasis.

The American College of Rheumatology awarded the 2021 Distinction for Excellence in Investigative Mentoring to Bryce Binstadt, M.D., Ph.D. This award recognizes its members' outstanding contributions to the field of rheumatology through an awards program.

The National Institute of Allergy and infectious diseases(NIAID) has awarded Stephen Jameson, Ph.D. a five-year R01 renewal grant to study Tcell homeostasis. LMP associate professor Sara Hamilton Hart, Ph.D. is co-investigator. Jameson was also recently interviewed for the Science feature story “New class of killer Tcells may prevent autoimmune diseases.”

The National Institute of Allergy and infectious diseases(NIAID) has awarded MichaelFarrar, Ph.D. a five-year R01 grant to study the “Regulation of central tolerance and Treg development by recirculating Treg".

Dr. Ingunn Stromnes, received an R01 from the National Cancer Institute entitled, "Enhancing engineered T cell therapeutic efficacy for the treatment of pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma". (Co-Investigators are Drs. Stephen Shen, Xavier Revelo, Beau Webber). She also received one of the first Idea Awards from the Department of Defense for pancreatic cancer research entitled: “Manipulating Myeloid Cells to Promote Immunotherapy Efficacy of Pancreatic Ductal Adenocarcinoma" (Co-Investigators are Drs. Jesse Williams and Kaylee Schwertfeger)

Xavier Revelo, Ph.D. was awarded the 2022 McKnight Land-Grant Professorship by UMN President Joan Gabel and the UMN Regents.

Dr. Matouš Vobořil, a postdoctoral fellow in the Hogquist lab, has been awarded a CRI Irvington Postdoctoral Fellowship.

Natalie David, MSTP/MICaB graduate student in the Farrar Lab was awarded the 2022 President’s Student Leadership & Service Award (PSLSA), this award recognizes the accomplishments and contributions of outstanding student leaders for their service to the University of Minnesota Twin Cities and the surrounding community. Natalie also received the Ruth L. Kirschstein National
Research Service Award for Predoctoral MD/Ph.D. Fellows from the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases(NIAID).

Monica Sauer, a BMBB graduate student in the Freedman Lab has been awarded the 2022 Armstrong-Pothapragada Graduate Fellowship by the Department and Graduate Program in Biochemistry, Molecular Biology & Biophysics. "This fellowship is given to a talented student who is in good standing and shows potential in their chosen field."

Dr. Nicholas Maurice, a postdoc in Stephen Jameson’s lab, was awarded a one-year grant from the National Cancer Institute (NCI) to study his proposal “Profiling and leveraging bystander T cells within the tumor microenvironment.”

Erandika Senevirathne, Pharmacology graduate student in Tanya Freedman's lab won a poster award at the FASEB Science Research Conference "Immuno receptors and Immunotherapy" in New Orleans.

Meagan Rollins, MICaB graduate student in Ingunn Stromnes's lab was awarded the 2021-2022 Dennis W. Watson Fellowship.

Michael Patterson, MSTP/MICaB graduate student in Jesse Williams Lab is the recipient of an American Heart Association Predoctoral Fellowship.

Congratulations to everyone!!